If I Ruled The SYTYCD Universe…

August 17, 2008 at 4:25 pm Leave a comment

…I would watch only the contemporary couples.

For a blog I do elsewhere, I put myself in the place of one of the judges this year determining which performances would be reprised in the finale. I definitely agreed with including Will & Katee’s Pas de Deux, Mark & Courtney’s Jazz by Sonya Tayeh, and Katee & Josh’s Bollywood routines. Find out what I might’ve replaced the rest with, after the jump.

The Finale would’ve been long on contemporary and very short on Broadway, hip-hop and ballroom. Perhaps I will learn to appreciate those genres more next year. In the meantime, here’re the five I would have chosen:

1) A Mandy Moore choreographed number. Perhaps this one:

2) IMO, one of the best Mark/Chelsie routines (I really liked [i]Bleeding Love[/i], but this one had me at Top 20):

3) One or both of these from Katee & Joshua:

4) This one from Courtney & Gev:

and, 5) This astonishing number from Will & Jessica (was she dancing this one with the broken rib? I think maybe she was!):

Entry filed under: Dance. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dorothy and Alice: Precocious Precursors to Potter The World Without Us

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


